The City of Newport News Hosted the 2014 Greater Hampton Roads Crime Lines’ Awards Benefit Dinner

The 14th Annual Greater Hampton Roads Dinner and Top Cop Awards event was held on Saturday November 1, 2014 at the Marriott City Center, Newport News Town Center.

The highlights of the evening were presentation of four major awards – TOP COP of the Region, TOP INDIVIDUAL, LIFETIME ACHIEVEMENT and TOP CORPORATION.

The TOP INDIVIDUAL award was presented to Lawrence Ronan, a member of the Virginia Beach Crime Solvers board since 2008 and has worn many hats supports both local and regional program initiatives.

LIFETIME ACHIEVEMENT awards were presented to Investigator Judy Nash of Norfolk and retired Master Police Officer Harold Eley of Newport News.

Langley Federal Credit Union was recognized as the TOP CORPORATION and the Newport News Police Foundation as TOP ORGANIZATION for their strong support of regional law enforcement efforts.

The 2014 Top Cop Winners
Chesapeake PD: Officer Selena Beaver & Officer Stephen Weir
Gloucester: Seargent Brad Simmons
Hampton PD: Patrol Officer Matthew Chapman
Isle of Wight SO: Lt. James W. Pope
James City County PD: Master Police Officer Jason Slodysko
Newport News PD: Sgt. Eric Hines
Norfolk International Airport: Officer Vernon Stevens
Norfolk PD: Norfolk Police Dept. Fugitive Section
Poquoson PD: Sgt. James Moore & Special Agent James Fox
Portsmouth PD: Officer Jeffrey Barber
Smithfield PD: Officer James E. Phillips
Suffolk PD: Officer Heather Linville
Virginia Beach PD: Officer Nicholas Kraus
Virginia State Police: Trooper Christopher R. Turner
Williamsburg PD: Investigator Todd Iverson
York-Poquoson SO: Capt. Jeffrey M. Culler

Photos form the 2014 Awards Celebration
(Click to Play Slideshow)