The City of Suffolk Hosted the 2013 Greater Hampton Roads Crime Lines’ Awards Benefit Dinner

The 13th Annual Greater Hampton Roads Dinner and Top Cop Awards event was held on Saturday November 2, 2013 at the Hilton Garden Inn, Suffolk Waterfront. Ms. Jan Clark, Chair, GHRRCL presented the awards.  The Reverend John Shappell, former Police Chaplain delivered the Invocation.

The highlight of the evening was presentation of four major awards – TOP COP of the Region, TOP INDIVIDUAL, LIFETIME ACHEIVEMENT and TOP CORPORATION.

The TOP COP of the Region award was presented to Detective Amber Rogers assigned to Newport News Police Department Special Victims Unit.

The TOP INDIVIDUAL award was presented to Ms. Linda Evans an Administrative Assistant with the Portsmouth Police Department.

The LIFETIME ACHEIVEMENT award was presented to Ms. MaryAnne Nixon for more than 40 years service in support of the Virginia Beach Police Department.

TowneBank was recognized as the TOP CORPORATION for their strong support of region law enforcement efforts.

The 2013 Top Cop Winners:
Chesapeake PD: Officer John Cook
Hampton PD: Senior Police Officer John Vantilburg
Isle of Wight SO: Deputy Matthew Van Wasson
James City County PD: MPO Sterling Perry
Newport News PD: Detective Amber Rogers
Norfolk International Airport: Captain Sheila D. Ward
Poquoson PD: Corporal David Dixon
Portsmouth PD: Detective Bryant Hall
Smithfield PD: Officer Edmund C. Cook
Suffolk PD: Officer Antonio P. Diggs
Virginia Beach PD: Detective Sean R. Coerse
Virginia State Police: Trooper Joseph Napier, Jr
Williamsburg PD: Investigator Maurice L Craighill
Windsor PD: 1st Sgt. Rodney D. Riddle
York-Poquoson SO: Investigator Michael A Cooper